comment 1

Tea Eggs for Easter…and California dreamin

Last Friday, the collective fates of thousands of medical students across the country were revealed in a celebratory occasion called “Match Day”. Everywhere I looked (on facebook), my friends were putting up pictures with “match madness” memes. Everyone was patting each other’s backs, wishing good luck, while their own hands trembled at the thought of opening that fateful envelope containing your future for the next 3 or 4 or 5 years. My mind trembled a bit too. In fact, the night before match day, I dreamt a nightmare where all my friends matching into pediatrics were looking at me as I teared open my envelope in front of everyone, and when my eyes found “Congratulations, you matched to….University of Uber”, I doubled back in confusion and fear, and I began to wail. Did I apply to this school? Where is University of Uber anyway? Am I going to become a taxi driver? Maybe it was all my times of riding Uber on those interview trips finally catching up to me, but oh boy, did I wake up in a cold sweat!

Thankfully, what was printed on my actual letter when I opened up my envelope on Match Day was much much better than University of Uber. After all those years of dreaming about moving to California, it was really happening- I am doing my pediatric residency in Los Angeles!! God really has the best plans for me, though sometimes I am shortsighted.

After being in a trance for an entire weekend, the idea of moving to LA really caught up with me and Y. We started researching the housing market, all those sunny apartments next to Hollywood, and the prospect of having a completely different lineup of grocery stores down the street, like Trader Joe’s, Vons, Ralph’s, all the vintage and funky shops in Hollywood that will be within 15 minutes drive, the Little Tokyo and Thai town that we’ll be close to. I could have ramen within walking distance for dinner whenever I wanted! The further I looked, the more excited I became. This is really happening- my lungs wanted to shout in joy!

Of course, with the prospect of moving across the country looming, I’ve also started to take over many “adult chores” that my parents are now handing to me, since I am well…married, and moving away from home. Double whammy! Learning how to transfer a car title, how to renew vehicle registration, how to hire a moving company, how to get a quote for car insurance, it’s all new to me (don’t laugh)! Then I realized how sheltered I’ve been all along, how blessed I’ve been to have parents who look out for me. I am excited to say that I’ll be striking out again on my own (after having gone away for college and worked for a year in Beijing), though this time, I’m not quite on my own. Thanks to #marriedlife.

Tea eggs

With Easter coming up this weekend, I wanted to introduce to you guys my Asian version of Easter eggs- braised tea eggs. This is about the least effortful and most delicious thing you can make for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Simply use your leftover braising liquid from making pork or beef, toss a few tea bags in, and boil away!

tea eggs1

tea eggs3

Tea Eggs

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • braising liquid from braising pork or beef
  • 2 black tea bags
  • 2-4 cups of water
  • 6 eggs, boiled and peeled

In a large pot, place peeled eggs, cover eggs with braising liquid and water if needed. Add 2 tea bags, bring the pot to a boil, then simmer on low heat for 45 minutes. Leave pot covered and turn the heat off.

If you don’t have braising liquid, simply add water, soy sauce, star anise and tea bags to the pot and boil.

1 Comment so far

Share your thoughts

