comment 1

Breakfast Bagel…and tales of traveling

For the past two and a half weeks, I’ve been doing some serious cross country flying and racking up some mileage, and some debt in my pocket, all thanks to the commencement of residency interview season. Sorry for those who follow Day7Kitchen, traveling has a way of making me lazy and blogging-aversive. While it is nice to be finally sleeping in my own bed and having access to a full kitchen pantry 24/7, it was refreshing to step out of my own city for awhile and wander in different cities, sometimes literally.

A few curious observations that I’ve made while away: it seemed sad yet true that every other city than Houston has a more beautiful fall and four seasons. I managed to catch the tail of fall in a few cities on the East and Southeast, and let me tell you, stepping out of the public transit onto a sidewalk lined with trees blooming in fall colors is one of the most fairy-tale like scenes I can think of. Quiet neighborhoods with charming Victorian-styled houses and narrow streets and crunchy golden leaves everywhere you step- one of the many things Texas lacks. So far, I’ve identified one tree in my hometown’s medical center that turns colors while all the other trees simply go bare and die.

I’ve also made the discovery that bikeable cities are gems. While being a tourist, one of my favorite things to do is to hop on a bikeshare program and cycle through the city trails. There is something to be said about good city planning where as a biker, I don’t feel the constant threat of being grinded by rude drivers or suddenly biking into the dirt as the side walk ends. Here are a few biker-friendly cities on my list: DC, Denver, Seattle, Boston.

Then of course there are also not-so-pleasant discoveries along the way. For example, how many homeless people are in Colorado, even in the snowy winter. Everywhere I went, I saw a homeless person hiding beneath ten blankets, or dealing marijuana with each other. That’s another surprise- how much weed there was on the street. I even was offered weed by some sketchy characters while waiting at the bus stop! Albeit, MJ is legal there, and yes, I was taking public transit at 10pm. Still, it came as a shock.

The funniest thing I witnessed along my travels perhaps, is when my connecting flight was delayed at the Charlotte airport. The flight assistants kept announcing later and later delay overhead. People were antsy and frustrated. But then I spotted a corner where a crowd had gathered to play a spontaneous game of taboo. They used their iphone app and organized complete strangers into two teams and competed! Amidst the midnight hours, the absurdity of flights and weather, being tired, people still got a good laugh out of it, participating and watching.

breakfast bagel3

 

Being on the road with many early morning flights, one of my comfort food was a filling and meaty breakfast. Sausage and egg bagels won the championship on my breakfast menu for that purpose. So here, I introduce to you, your fifteen-minute breakfast fix, complete with hot sauce and all!

breakfast bagel

breastfast bagel1

Breakfast Egg & Sausage Bagel

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 everything bagel, sliced
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 sausage link, diced
  • 1/4 onion, diced
  • a dash of hot sauce

In a skillet, heat up oil over high heat. Sweat the onions until translucent.

Add sausage to the skillet and cook until aromatic. Add beaten eggs. Try to shape the mixture into a patty as the eggs cook. Sprinkle salt and pepper to taste.

Toast the bagel meanwhile. Assemble your bagel sandwich with your egg+sausage+onion patty in the middle. Add a dash of hot sauce if desired. Enjoy!

1 Comment so far

Share your thoughts

