comment 1

Creamy Scrambled Eggs and a lifelong pursuit of perfection

I usually don’t like to introduce myself to new friends as a Type A personality. High maintenance, high strung, difficult to please are just few of the adjectives that come to mind when I think of type A. Plus, I am actually type B blood. B+, to be exact. Hoping that some of my biological makeup would rub off on my personal inclinations, I’ve always romantically envisioned myself as a laid back idealist who spontaneously experiences life in its most undisturbed forms.

But even then I cannot ignore the areas in my life that scream out type A personality. The most obvious of those is a relentless pursuit of perfection, in just a few aspects of life. Just a few.

For instance, when I spent a lot of time in oil painting and charcoal drawing classes back in high school, the one thing that drove me nuts and also drove me to improve is seeing a fellow classmate who painted a better piece of artwork than I did. Sounds a little uptight right? I know, but art was such a huge indispensable part of my life back then that my lack of satisfaction is honestly what drove me to strive for the better. I still remember when I went to a local art contest awards ceremony and found out that even though I made it into top ten in the city, I was only number 8, the indignation and despair I felt, balling my little fists up and swearing to myself that I have to do better next year. Which I did. After spending almost entire weekends in the studio for a year, my work was awarded first place in a national contest. Sometimes, your indignation and pursuit of perfection can be channeled positively.

Another seemingly random part of my life that I seek perfection in is event planning, specifically vacation planning (because heck, vacations consist of 90% of all the events I am ever in charge of). Because no one around me, from my parents to my fiance to close traveling buddies, ever seem to enjoy trip planning, that joyful burden inevitably falls on me. “Hey, you are organized and good at time management. Why don’t you plan this?” I’ve heard of that way too many times. Anyhow,  when I plan a trip, every detail from the most convenient route we take to see sights to which bus we will take from A to B, to estimated amount of time we will spend at each location, are all carefully calculated. The final product of my planning looks somewhat like a corporate meeting agenda, with bullets and numbers and all. Maybe I should be an event planner? Alas, another career for another lifetime.

creamy scrambled eggs3

Lastly, I’m sure you can guess, I’m also a perfectionist when it comes to food. With that said, you can also add in elitist too. Being a firm believer in what I cook on my blog should be an accurate representation of what I cook on a daily basis, I am constantly on the look for simple ways to spice up my everyday meals. Awhile ago, I had a creamy scrambled eggs dish at a brunch potluck over at a friend’s house. The eggs were creamy, buttery, smooth and out of this world amazing! So I decided to replicate it. In order to make the perfect creamy scrambled eggs without any bits of solid pieces, I had to stand in front of the skillet, stirring that spatula for 15-20 minutes nonstop like there was no tomorrow. It requires closer attention and more frequent stirring than even risotto, which is a pretty effortful dish itself. But to avoid chunks of eggs forming, the key is really to just stir constantly. There is no secret. Only hard work. But the hard work pays off.

creamy scrambled eggs2

So here I present to you, perfectly creamy scrambled eggs.

creamy scrambled eggs1

Creamy Scrambled Eggs

  • Servings: 2-3
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 4-6 eggs
  • salt and pepper
  • scallions, chopped

Beat eggs together in a large bowl until smooth. Add salt and pepper to your liking.

Heat 1 Tbsp of butter on a skillet on medium heat. After butter is completely melted, pour in the eggs. Turn down the heat to low and begin stirring the contents. Keep stirring for 15-20 minutes until eggs are no longer runny with yolk but creamy, with the texture of thick polenta porridge.

Sprinkle chopped scallions on top. Enjoy in a taco with some sausages or on its own!

1 Comment so far

Share your thoughts

