comment 1

Parable of the Sower

Matthew 13:19-23

When anyone hears the word of the kingdom and does not understand it, the evil one comes and snatches away what has been sown in his heart. This is what was sown along the path. As for what was sown on rocky ground, this is the one who hears the word and immediately receives it with joy, yet he has no root in himself, but endures for a while, and when tribulation or persecution arises on account of the word, immediately he falls away. As for what was sown among thorns, this is the one who hears the word, but the cares of the world and the deceitfulness of riches choke the word, and it proves unfruitful. As for what was sown on good soil, this is the one who hears the word and understands it. He indeed bears fruit and yields, in one case a hundredfold, in another sixty, and in another thirty.

If you happen to be Christian, have you ever asked yourself what type of seed you are? Are you the seed that careless fell along the path, or are you sown on rocky ground or among thorns, or have you bear fruit for the Kingdom?

For one thing, I definitely relate to the seeds that have been sown on rocky ground and among thorns. When I first became a believer, as many new Christians, I was on fire for God, listening to sermons all day long and frantically jotting notes down in my notebook during Bible reading. But that didn’t last for too long. Soon enough that phase passed and I was preoccupied by the exciting happenings in my college life, and upon facing obstacles to overcome, I devised my own ways and left out God in the corner.

Though I would like to think that over the years, my faith has matured and become more steady and less rocky in its ups and downs, I know that sometimes I still fail to be a seed sown on good soil. I get distracted with my own worries easily and forget about God. When I think about it, my thoughts are so ridiculously small and insignificant in comparison to His plan for me. He is sovereign over every aspect of my life, how is it possible for me to merely ignore His presence when He is the one who made my life?

I also know that Christ is in the process of sanctifying us, so that one day, we will bear fruits of His kingdom and be deeply rooted in His words with everything we do. I don’t have faith in myself, but I do have faith in Him.

1 Comment so far

Share your thoughts

