comment 1

Sage Browned Butter Sweet Potato….and on Inside Out

Last weekend, hubby came to visit and we hit the theater to watch Inside Out, after getting tired of listening to endless praises and recommendations from friends around us. And it did not disappoint.

Despite being a Pixar computer animated film about a middle schooler’s growing pains and several colorful and sometimes hairy characters named: Joy, Sadness, Anger and Disgust, it was surprisingly profound and genuine. It got me crying, and apparently many other 40 somethings men in the theater as well. (According to my fiance, the guy sitting next to him was practically wheezing from sobbing). Actually, I would venture to declare that this movie targets an adult audience, as opposed to what you might have expected. Without giving away too much of a spoiler, I want to highlight a few memorable lessons from the movie.

Firstly, it’s okay to let go of a few memories and qualities you acquired during childhood. Life goes on, and sometimes you need to let go of the old to make room for new experiences. I definitely personally identify with this school of thought. Growing up in elementary school, I used to be a shy and inwardly drawn little girl because of my strict upbringing and my parents’ focus on “doing the correct thing”. But after our family immigrated to the States, the adventurous, curious and creative side of me was unleashed, and I became much more extroverted. At the same time, I also lost touch with many childhood playmates whom I grew up with to distance and time. Every time I visit China, I imagine myself in the life that I could but never had, and a part of me grows nostalgic. But I am who I am now, molded heavily by the American soil that I spent the latter half of my life on.

Secondly, your emotions become more complex as you mature in age. As a child, you tend to consider everything joyful as the absolute standard of goodness. As we age, what we call formative experiences in our lives are often mixtures of sadness and happiness, confusion and clarity. Joy is no longer the absolute best, but is replaced by higher dimensions such as repentance, forgiveness and acceptance. I think all of us can identify with this. For instance, when I think of my parents, I think of the sacrifices they have made for me to have the opportunities that I have today, their unconditional love, their imperfect human selves, and these thoughts unavoidably bring on tears of joy. Needless to say, life is not rainbows and unicorns all day, but it’s something even better.

Anyhow, I won’t give away anymore of the movie here, and if you really want the scoop, drive yourself to the theater and buy a ticket! You’re welcome.

Sage browned butter + sweet potato

Now, today I’m going to share with you something that’s really good, almost as good as rainbows and unicorns. I shared a few weeks ago about the combination of sage and chicken. Now I’ve got an even better combo- sage browned butter. Essentially, you melt butter until it starts to caramelize and toss in fresh sage leaves to fry it up. The herbal fragrance mixed into nutty butter, that is one irresistable sauce that you can use on anything! I roasted some sweet potato cubes and mixed the sage browned butter into it, and oh boy, was it addicting!

sage browned butter+ sweet potato1

Oh and did I mention that this recipe only needs five ingredients? Again, you’re welcome.

Sage Browned Butter Sweet Potato

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 50 min
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 sweet potatoes, peeled and diced into cubes
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 5-10 fresh sage leaves

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Toss sweet potato cubes in olive oil and sprinkled to salt and pepper to taste. Pour sweet potato onto a foil lined baking sheet, in a single layer. Roast for 20 minutes or until cubes are starting to brown on the edges.

Meanwhile, heat up butter in a pan until bubbly and starting to turn an amber color. Throw in sage leaves and reduce heat to medium. The sage leaves will turn a dark green and become crispy very fast. This takes less than 1 minute, so don’t leave the pan unattended.

Pour sage browned butter onto sweet potato. Mix thoroughly and enjoy!

1 Comment so far

Share your thoughts

