comments 3

Kale Sausage and Feta Frittata….and how kids are the best

I love kids. They are hilarious, surprising, profound, and the best part is, they have no idea that they’re any of the above.

One of my patients last week, during staff rounds, when everyone else was talking solemnly around her bed about her case, she wiggled her index finger at me and motioned me to come nearer. Here she was, an eight year old, sitting up in bed, wiggling her finger at me while the rest of the adults stood around in crisp clean white coats, looking professional and throwing complicated jargon around.

What could she possibly want from me? I was bewildered but decided to stick my head closer to her bed nevertheless. She beckoned me over and pulled out a sheet of stickers from her sheets. Snow white, Elsa, Buzz Lightyear, she pointed to each one of the sticker characters on her sheet and mouthed to me exaggeratedly, “which one do you want?” I almost burst out in giggles when I saw these stickers and the secretive way that she snuck them out.

I picked Snow White and she proceeded to peal it off the sheet and stuck it on my ID badge, right next to my picture. Then she gave me a big thumbs up and smiled at me with such a genuine happiness I haven’t seen in awhile. And before our whole staff team left the room, I trailed behind and gave her a thumbs up in return.

Kale sausage frittata

Just this simple exchange was enough to warm my spirits for the rest of the day, and I proudly flashed my badge with the sticker everywhere I went. Sometimes the simplest acts are the most memorable ones.

kale sausage frittata (2)

Kale sausage frittata1

Kale sausage and feta Frittata

  • Servings: 6
  • Time: 50 min
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 7 large eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 4 cups of kale, stems trimmed, sliced into 1 inch strips
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 red bell pepper, cut into chunks
  • sausage, cooked and crumbled
  • 1 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • salt, pepper, oregano

In a mixing bowl, whisk together 7 eggs, 1 cup of milk, a pinch of salt, pepper and oregano. Set aside.

In a cast iron skillet, heat up oil over medium heat. Sautee kale with garlic until soft. Add 2 Tbsp water if needed to wilt the kale. This takes 5-6 minutes.

Add diced bell peppers and cooked sausage to the skillet. Mix with kale thoroughly.

Sprinkle feta cheese on top.

Pour egg mixture over skillet content. Cook on medium-high heat for 6-7 minutes until eggs have almost set. Transfer cast iron pan to oven and broil on high for 6-7 minutes, until top of frittata is golden.

3 Comments

    • Haha, thanks! Oh yea..it doesn’t really have much to do with the frittata, still learning how to better integrate my recipes into my stories..

      Like

Share your thoughts

