comment 1

Sea Bass Tofu Soup and on grocery shopping

When you are finally home after a long day at work dealing with clients, answering a billion emails and filing stacks of paper, most people want to rewind. Some plop down on the couch and never budge again, some watch their favorite TV show, some turn up their jam. I have a slightly unusual activity for relaxation- I go grocery shopping.

Often I would browse my favorite food blogs and mentally absorb a few inspirations for recipes for the week, and I make my grocery list. Then off I go, giddily in my Honda, to the nearest grocery store where I make my list come true. I especially love exploring new ingredients that I’ve never used before. Going down the aisles, I would stop often, pick up something new and brainstorm a way to incorporate it into my week’s recipes.

Whenever I spot a rare find, like bitter melon, or taro, or butternut squash or cookie butter, I haul it into my cart like a kid hauling toys.

Another habit of mine is to try different cereals and granola. After all these years, I think I’ve gone through most of the cereals Trader Joe’s has to offer!

bass tofu soup

So this week’s recipe is spun off a new find- sea bass. I’ve never really ventured out in terms of seafood besides the usual salmon, tuna, tilapia and such. As soon as I spotted sea bass in the frozen section, I already had a soup recipe in mind. Sea bass has a very mild flavor so it pretty much absorbs whatever other flavor and incorporates itself nicely into anything. So I decided to make a tomato based soup with tofu and sea bass, and it turned out hearty and healthy!

bass tofu soup1

What are YOUR favorite activities to wind down?

Bass tofu tomato soup

Sea Bass Tofu Soup

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 tomatoes, diced in chunks
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 5 cups of water
  • 1 pack of medium tofu, diced into chunks
  • 3 frozen sea bass fillet, cut into chunks
  • dry seaweed
  • salt
  • cooked rice

Heat up canola oil on a large pot. Sautee tomatoes with garlic and a pinch of salt until tomato is soft and tomato juice has been released. This takes around 5-7 minutes.

Add 5 cups of water to the pot, bring to a boil.

Add diced tofu to the boiling water and bring pot to a boil again. Add sea bass to the pot and wait for soup to boil. Add dry seaweed to rehydrate and season according to taste (I do salt, pepper and red pepper flakes).

To consume, add cooked rice to soup and mix. The rice absorbs all the wonderful soupy flavors!

1 Comment so far

Share your thoughts

