comment 0

Be still

Psalm 37

Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him, and he will act. He will bring forth your righteousness as the light, and your justice as the noonday. Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him; fret not yourself over the one who prospers in his way, over the man who carries out evil devices!

On some days when I look around my friends and see how they’ve been blessed with more success in medical school, or more published research papers, or a more prestigious specialty path, or a cooler city to live in, I begin to get impatient with God and question how He can possibly not grant me those same things. But I try so hard, I think in my head. Or, I am more Godly than they are. These thoughts cross my mind multiple times a day. Sometimes, it’s very easy to get carried away in my self-righteousness and feel entitled to deserve something better in my earthly life.

Very rarely I come before God and wholly trust my worries to Him and simply be still. It’s particularly difficult in this fast-paced, result-oriented day and age, and it’s hard to believe that God will bring forth my righteousness in due time and ignore those around me who prosper in the meantime.

But that’s exactly what God has called us to do, and it’s no easy task.

I remind myself each day that my Lord Jesus died on the cross for me, for us all, so that we would not be condemned to evil but have eternal life. He is the Lord who created every bit of the universe, including myself, all those I interact with, the medicine that I’m studying, the country I live in, whether directly or indirectly through us. He has clearly said in the Bible that he has a plan for us, to prosper us as his children, and he only asks that we seek his kingdom first above all things. Therefore, I need to diligently seek his love, seek to obey his commandments and to bear spiritual fruits each day. And that includes coming before God and simply be still.

Be still and wait for his perfect plan to unfold.

 

Share your thoughts

