comment 1

On Endurance

2 Timothy 2:10-13

Therefore I endure everything for the sake of the elect, that they also may obtain the salvation that is in Christ Jesus with eternal glory. The saying is trustworthy, for:

If we have died with him, we will also live with him; if we endure, we will also reign with him; if we deny him, he also will deny us; if we are faithless, he remains faithful- for he cannot deny himself.

I have always been a person of poor endurance, manifesting in everything from keeping up a regular exercise routine to suffering through difficult rotations during medical school. I have a tendency to complain quickly and to give up easily on anything that is outside my comfort zone or disrupts my usual habits. My fiance, Y, has been trying to motivate me to work out a million different ways since we started dating, but I find myself falling short yet again this month. In fact, I remotely remember the last time I hit the gym was 2 weeks ago. (hiding behind a curtain of shame right now) Even when medical school first began, the towering amount of work and loneliness nearly crumpled me, and got me regretting about ever coming back from my gap year in Beijing. And, of course, in terms of daily devotional time, I fall miserably behind on my Bible in 1 Year reading plan as well.

But I’ve discovered a pattern through my terribly un-disciplined behavior, that I nearly always have trouble enduring through activities that I don’t truly enjoy in my heart. And though it’s hard to admit, I have to say that trudging through four chapters in the Bible every night before bedtime is a chore, even when I know in my mind that I need the Lord and reading His words is the first step to leading a God-centered life. But that’s exactly what God has demanded in the Bible: to endure is to reign with him. If we cannot endure a life of suffering because of our faith, or endure the seemingly mundane task of daily devotional, we cannot share in the glory of His kingdom that is to come. There’s no maybe or likely, it’s a black and white statement.

So I’ve learned that for me, in order to have more discipline about keeping up with daily devotionals, I need to hear the gospel again and again and remind myself of God’s love for me and His sacrifice that saved me. Only then it will become heart-knowledge that I need to keep up my daily reading, and far more than just enduring through it, I will genuinely desire it and love doing it.

What about you? Do you struggle with enduring through things or keeping up with daily devotionals? Please share your experience or tips!

1 Comment so far

Share your thoughts

