comments 5

Smoked Broccoli and Goat Cheese Pizza

I didn’t grow up being a goat cheese fan. Or really fan of any type of cheese.

My dad is an engineer and he was often away on research projects or business trips in Europe when I was a kid in China. I distinctly remember one summer when he came back from Norway, he brought back home a large orange-looking cylinder of a “Western delicacy” called cheese. My dad had no clue how to eat it or what to eat it with. So my mom and I spent the ensuing week staring at this pungent smelling “delicacy” and imagining what it looked like on the inside and brainstorming how to cook it.  At the end, nobody figured out what to do with it, so we had to sadly give it away.

My family moved to the US when I was eleven, and I was reintroduced to the concept of cheese when my mom had to pack me sandwiches for school lunch. I made her include a slice of cheese just because all the other kids had it in their sandwiches. (I know… such teenager feelings) But that routine quickly stopped when I decided that this soft yellow sticky thing didn’t jive with my tastebuds. It wasn’t until much later when I became acquainted with pizza and baked cheese dips that I eventually got used to its flavor.

I like some cheese now and can tolerate most others, but sometimes I still subconsciously cringe at the sight of moldy looking blue cheese. I’m not sure if I’ll ever get to the same level of enthusiasm with cheese as most of my American born friends. But, oh well, I guess that’s part of me, a product of cross cultural exchange.

Today, I would like to introduce you to an amazing recipe I adapted from a pizza I had at Oporto Fooding and Wine. It’s topped with smoked broccoli and heaped with mounds of goat cheese, and it’s absolutely amazing.

Smoked broccoli and goat cheese pizza1

 

Smoked broccoli and goat cheese pizza2

Smoked Broccoli and Goat Cheese Pizza

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 round pita breads
  • 5 large Tbsp of tomato basil sauce
  • sliced tomatoes
  • 1 large broccoli floret
  • goat cheese
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbs paprika

Preheat the oven to 400 F.

Wash the broccoli floret and cut it into small pieces. Cut the stems off. In a large baking tray, lay the broccoli pieces and drizzle olive oil and paprika, salt and pepper to taste. Toss to mix the seasoning with the broccoli thoroughly. Roast broccoli for 15 minutes until edges are slightly golden.

On individual pita bread, spoon tomato basil sauce evenly over, leaving 1/2 inch edge.Place tomato slices on pita bread. Place roasted broccoli pieces on top and sprinkle goat cheese. Bake in the oven for 5-8 minutes or until cheese is melting.

5 Comments

Share your thoughts

