comments 3

My portion and my cup

Psalm 16:5-8

The Lord is my chosen portion and my cup; you hold my lot. The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance. I bless the Lord who gives me counsel; in the night also my heart instructs me. I have set the Lord always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.

I read this as part of my Bible in 1 year reading plan last night, and it came in an opportune time. Lately I’ve had a lot of reasons to be anxious about my life and future directions. This fall I’ll be applying for residency programs, where I’ll have to prove to schools why I will make a worthy pediatrician trainee in their institution. Along with that comes lots of stress about asking for recommendation letters, putting all the pieces for research projects together and jumping through hoops. Not to mention the uncertainty of the residency match process: I’ll have very little control over where I spend the next 3 years of my life. With wedding planning for next spring, and trying to coordinate future plans with Y (my fiance) who is still job searching and has no idea where he will end up, it’s not exactly the most comforting situation.

And that’s why when I read this verse, I knew I really needed it. This ancient verse in Psalm steers me back to my Lord, who I know has all things planned perfectly for me already. Of course, knowing this fact intellectually is very different from knowing it in my heart. I need to dig into the Bible daily in order to remind myself that God has set a beautiful inheritance for me through Jesus Christ. And my everyday life here is planned by God so that it will be glorifying to him, whether it’s through my challenges, suffering, endurance, or relationship with others. I just need to set Him before me, instead of my excessive worries. Even though things might not turn out the way I envisioned, I trust and know that the Lord is at my right hand, and He is sovereign over my life plans. Knowing this, there is a deep comfort that I feel that I otherwise cannot experience through temporary success or accomplishment.

My God is good.

3 Comments

  1. cc

    He is GOOD! “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

    Like

Share your thoughts

