comment 1

What Easter means for me

gospel

Colossians 1:9-14

..you may be filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, so as to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing to him, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God. May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy, giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light. He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.

In half an hour, we will be welcoming Easter Sunday. A day filled with church-going activities, dressed up brunch events, egg hunts, bunny costumes on every child, an occasion for gathering of families. But, at the end of this celebratory day, what does Easter really mean for me?

This passage is from the Bible in 1 year reading plan that I’m following, and it summarized the Gospel very well. Our Lord, the one who created us and all around us, has delivered us from our sins through the death and resurrection of his beloved Son, Jesus Christ, so that we can have redemption, the knowledge of his will, and the ability to bear spiritual fruits. It’s easy to put this passage off as a church-y lecture, but it actually is embedded with so much truth and wisdom to guide my life as a Christian. I am to seek to be filled with the knowledge of God. And with that knowledge, I can begin to understand his will, with the help of the Spirit, so that I can begin to steer my daily actions in a direction that is pleasing to Him.

How do I even begin to fill myself with knowledge of my God? Well, it’s quite impossible to do on my own. When I first became a Christian in high school, I struggled with understanding what was taught in Sunday school and soon I lost interest in reading the Bible since there was so much that I didn’t know about. In college, I joined a Christian fellowship and slowly began reading parts of the New Testament again. Even then, I still had little motivation to really explore the story of God’s creation. It wasn’t until my discipler at the end of college went through the book of John with me chapter by chapter, that I finally grasped the entire picture of the gospel plan and the significance of the salvation I had in Jesus Christ. Since entering medical school, I’ve been blessed with a welcoming bible study small group, and we’ve grown together in studying the words of God, and carrying them out in our lives, constantly being accountable for each other. As I grew more in my understanding of God’s salvation plan, my desire to increase in my knowledge of Him and to bear spiritual fruits became stronger. This was exactly what this passage had said! I just realized that the Spirit has been urging me and helping me all along to get to this point.

Now reading this passage and looking at at my journey with Christ, I feel so blessed that I’ve been offered salvation and grace and I was never forsaken, even when I lacked interest and motivation. So, in light of all this, I hope that tomorrow will not just be a chance to dress up at church, or to pinterest Easter themed recipes, but I hope that we can reflect on the true meaning of God’s resurrection, and His salvation plan for us.

I would love to hear about your walk with Christ, or your doubts and questions. Please leave a comment and share your thoughts with us!

1 Comment so far

Share your thoughts

