comment 1

I am the bread of life!

gospel

In the book of John, Jesus taught his disciples about the difference between manna, the bread that the Jews ate while in exodus, and the bread of life, which is Jesus himself. The Jews were so stubborn about how manna was their lifesaving bread that came down from heaven, and they refused to recognize Jesus as the ultimate savior. I am like the Jews at times, so wayward in my insistence that academic success, or approval from peers, or living a life of means are my manna. I chase after them, even though I intellectually understand that they’re empty idols that will ultimately disappoint me. I have to remind myself again and again that I can only find eternal rest and joy in Christ.

John 6:35-37

Then Jesus declared, ‘I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty. But as I told you, you have seen me and still you do not believe. All those the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never drive away.

Learn more about how to read the Bible in 1 year!

 

1 Comment so far

Share your thoughts

